HTML 5: What's that all about?

HTML 5: What's that all about?

By Smylers from
Date: Wednesday, 13 August 2008 15:10
Duration: 30 minutes
Tags: html html5 lolcats standards web

HTML is evolving, with a working group* currently designing the HTML 5 standard (including XHTML 5). This is obviously of interest to Perl hackers who work on web-based systems or otherwise generate or parse HTML. More widely it's also relevant to anybody who has a website for their project, company, or lolcats.

So this talk gets you up to speed with HTML 5, answering questions such as:

• Why is there a need for HTML 5?
• What changes will HTML 5 bring? Can I ignore it?
• Who is behind HTML 5? Can I get involved?
• When will it affect me? Is there Perl support for it?
• How can I find out more?

It _isn't_ a detailed examination of various bits of HTML 5 syntax ‒ that would be quite boring, and is much better done by perusing the docs.

The talk also covers the various controversies so far encountered in designing HTML 5, highlights some of the hard problems that need addressing, and takes a brief look at the process of creating the HTML 5 standard ‒ which is quite different from the typical ways of working in the Perl community.

* Actually that isn't quite true: for political reasons that are _two_ working groups simultaneously designing HTML 5!

Attended by: Paul-Christophe Varoutas, Michael Kröll (‎pepl‎), José Castro (‎cog‎), Barbie, JJ Allen, Salve J. Nilsen (‎sjn‎), Dave Cross (‎davorg‎), Gabor Szabo (‎szabgab‎), Abe Timmerman (‎abeltje‎), Jos Boumans (‎kane‎), Smylers, Anton Berezin (‎Grrrr‎), jonasbn, Dmitry Karasik (‎McFist‎), Jesse Vincent, Søren Lund (‎slu‎), Trond Michelsen (‎trondmm‎), Arne Sommer (‎Arne‎), Juerd Waalboer, Wendy Van Dijk (‎woolfy‎), Damian Conway (‎damian‎), Aristotle, Cristina Nunes (‎mega‎), Francoise Dehinbo (‎franky‎), Mark Keating (‎mdk‎), Alex Kapranoff (‎kappa‎), Bern, David Leadbeater (‎dg‎), Tanja A. Orme (‎tannie‎), Nigel Metheringham (‎nigelm‎), Andrew Johnson, Steffen Mueller, Imran Chaudhry (‎icjs‎), Darius Jokilehto, Jacob Bunk Nielsen, Bart Lateur, Andrew Bayliss, Jason Armstrong, RichA,