Getting Started with Multithreaded Perl

Getting Started with Multithreaded Perl

By Walt Mankowski (‎waltman‎) from Philadelphia.pm
Date: Wednesday, 5 August 2009 11:10
Duration: 40 minutes
Target audience: Beginning Perl
Language:
Tags: threads

You can find more information on the speaker's site:


In this talk we'll discuss how to write multithreaded programs in Perl. We'll begin with the basic threading model in Perl and how it differs from other popular thread systems such as pthreads and Java threads. We'll discuss how to create threads, how to share data between threads, and how to coordinate access to data using locks and semaphores. Finally we'll talk about how to use higher-level concepts such as queues and thread pools.


Attended by: Tobias Henoeckl (‎hoeni‎), Peter Stoehr, Lars Dɪᴇᴄᴋᴏᴡ 迪拉斯 (‎daxim‎), Maroš Kollár (‎maros‎), Anders Nielsen (‎anielsen‎), Laurent Dami (‎dami‎), Martin Schipany (‎ElCondor‎), Damian Conway (‎damian‎), Cláudio Valente, Peter Makholm (‎brother‎), Vincent Pit (‎vincent‎), Pedro Melo (‎melo‎), Stig Palmquist (‎stigtsp‎), Solli Honorio (‎shonorio‎), Marco Ramos (‎mramos‎), Armando Reis (‎AReis‎), Casiano Rodriguez-Leon (‎casiano‎), Bruno Martins, Luis Rodrigues (‎goblin‎), Jose Celestino (‎japc‎), Nuno Jordão, James Laver (‎jjl‎), Jose Neta (‎jpn‎), Roman Baumer (‎rba‎), oleber, Maciej Czekay (‎Bruno‎), Carlos Pires (‎acmpires‎), Walt Mankowski (‎waltman‎), Oliver Thieke (‎o-thieke‎), Marcos Ramos (‎x‎), Bálint Szilakszi (‎szbalint‎), Mário Barbosa, JJ Allen, Salve J. Nilsen (‎sjn‎), João Carreira, Stan Sawa, Joerg Meltzer (‎codeacrobat‎), Lars Thegler (‎tagg‎), Mark Stewart, Rosellyne Worrall (‎rozallin‎), Jorge Morgado, Frederico Recsky (‎Frederico‎), Filipe Moreira, Rui Pereira, Carlos Juan Diaz (‎cjuan‎), Jörg Plate (‎Patterner‎), Enrique Nell (‎e-nell‎), Rafael Antonio (‎RA‎), Jorge Bras, Sérgio Bernardino (‎smpb‎), Luís Mendes (‎big‎), Damon Davison (‎allolex‎), Henrik Hald Nørgaard, jani, Jordi Delgado (‎jdelgado‎), Frederico Martins, Markus Förster, Daan Baldewijns, Sergio Arias, Tiago Grego, Ulrich Wisser (‎wisser‎), Adam Reeks, Hugo Costa, Beatriz Nombela Escobar, Pedro Frazão, Jose Plana, Christian Westgaard (‎ComLock‎), Bartosz Jakubski (‎migo‎), Fernando Vezzosi (‎Bucciarati‎), Andrew Beech, Pedro Figueiredo (‎pfig‎), Gianni Ceccarelli (‎dakkar‎), Abigail, Sue Spence (‎virtualsue‎), Herbert Breunung (‎lichtkind‎), Lutz Gehlen, Emmanuel Rodriguez (‎potyl‎), BinGOs, Diogo Antunes, Abe Timmerman (‎abeltje‎), geira,