Getting Started with Multithreaded Perl

Getting Started with Multithreaded Perl

By Walt Mankowski (‎waltman‎) from Philadelphia.pm
Date: Wednesday, 5 August 2009 11:10
Duration: 40 minutes
Target audience: Beginning Perl
Language:
Tags: threads

You can find more information on the speaker's site:


In this talk we'll discuss how to write multithreaded programs in Perl. We'll begin with the basic threading model in Perl and how it differs from other popular thread systems such as pthreads and Java threads. We'll discuss how to create threads, how to share data between threads, and how to coordinate access to data using locks and semaphores. Finally we'll talk about how to use higher-level concepts such as queues and thread pools.


Attended by: Gianni Ceccarelli (‎dakkar‎), Maroš Kollár (‎maros‎), Laurent Dami (‎dami‎), Bruno Martins, JJ Allen, Pedro Figueiredo (‎pfig‎), Salve J. Nilsen (‎sjn‎), Lars Thegler (‎tagg‎), Abe Timmerman (‎abeltje‎), Abigail, Enrique Nell (‎e-nell‎), Casiano Rodriguez-Leon (‎casiano‎), Geir Aalberg (‎geira‎), Pedro Melo (‎melo‎), Bálint Szilakszi (‎szbalint‎), jani, Peter Stoehr, Martin Schipany (‎ElCondor‎), Tobias Henoeckl (‎hoeni‎), Roman Baumer (‎rba‎), Damon Davison (‎allolex‎), Sue Spence (‎virtualsue‎), Jörg Plate (‎Patterner‎), Damian Conway (‎damian‎), BinGOs, Bartosz Jakubski (‎migo‎), Peter Makholm (‎brother‎), Markus Förster, Walt Mankowski (‎waltman‎), Anders Nielsen (‎anielsen‎), Ulrich Wisser (‎wisser‎), Emmanuel Rodriguez (‎potyl‎), Lutz Gehlen, Lars Dɪᴇᴄᴋᴏᴡ 迪拉斯 (‎daxim‎), Rosellyne Thompson (‎rozallin‎), Maciej Czekay (‎Bruno‎), Herbert Breunung (‎lichtkind‎), Jose Neta (‎jpn‎), oleber, Hugo Costa, Stig Palmquist (‎stigtsp‎), Joerg Meltzer (‎codeacrobat‎), Vincent Pit (‎vincent‎), Stan Sawa, Christian Westgaard (‎ComLock‎), Henrik Hald Nørgaard, James Laver (‎jjl‎), Luís Mendes (‎big‎), Mário Barbosa, Cláudio Valente, Fernando Vezzosi (‎Bucciarati‎), Jorge Morgado, Solli Honorio (‎shonorio‎), Pedro Frazão, Jordi Delgado (‎jdelgado‎), Rafael Antonio (‎RA‎), Armando Reis (‎AReis‎), Jose Celestino (‎japc‎), Marco Ramos (‎mramos‎), Carlos Pires (‎acmpires‎), Oliver Thieke (‎o-thieke‎), Mark Stewart, Luis Rodrigues (‎goblin‎), Frederico Recsky (‎Frederico‎), Frederico Martins, Andrew Beech, Nuno Jordão, Marcos Ramos (‎x‎), João Carreira, Beatriz Nombela Escobar, Jose Plana, Daan Baldewijns, Tiago Grego, Rui Pereira, Carlos Juan Diaz (‎cjuan‎), Sergio Arias, Filipe Moreira, Jorge Bras, Diogo Antunes, Sérgio Bernardino (‎smpb‎), Adam Reeks,