Remote Controlled Volunteers

Remote Controlled Volunteers

By Karen Pauley from
Date: Tuesday, 4 August 2009 11:15
Duration: 20 minutes
Target audience: Corporate Perl
Tags: management volunteers

Most of you weren't forced to come to YAPC by your boss, and most of you aren't paid to contribute to Perl or other Open Source projects. As volunteers you can choose to join in. But if you don't like it, you can easily choose to leave.

All teams and projects need some sort of management, and good management isn't easy. If your team members are distributed around the world, with different languages and cultures, it's even harder. Make them volunteers and it may become almost impossible to stay productive.

In this talk I will describe the common problems, tell you how to avoid them, and explain what to do when everything goes wrong.

Attended by: Nicholas Clark, Thomas Klausner (‎domm‎), Michael Kröll (‎pepl‎), Bernhard Schmalhofer (‎bernhard‎), Laurent Dami (‎dami‎), Léon Brocard (‎acme‎), Barbie, JJ Allen, Salve J. Nilsen (‎sjn‎), Giuseppe Maxia (‎gmax‎), Dave Cross (‎davorg‎), Chia-liang Kao (‎clkao‎), Gabor Szabo (‎szabgab‎), Smylers, Enrique Nell (‎e-nell‎), Salvador Fandiño (‎salva‎), Casiano Rodriguez-Leon (‎casiano‎), Roberto Henríquez, David H. Adler (‎dha‎), Hermen Lesscher (‎hermen‎), Joaquín Ferrero (‎explorer‎), Jordi Porta, Bálint Szilakszi (‎szbalint‎), Jesse Vincent, jani, Martin Schipany (‎ElCondor‎), Jonathan Worthington (‎jnthn‎), Chisel Wright, Luis Motta Campos (‎LMC‎), Renee Bäcker (‎reneeb‎), Damian Conway (‎damian‎), Markus Förster, Patrick Michaud (‎Pm‎), Andrew Shitov (‎ash‎), Alex Kapranoff (‎kappa‎), Jozef Kutej (‎jozef‎), Lutz Gehlen, Lars Dɪᴇᴄᴋᴏᴡ 迪拉斯 (‎daxim‎), Rafaël Garcia-Suarez (‎rgs‎), Marcel Grünauer (‎Marcel‎), Herbert Breunung (‎lichtkind‎), Vincent Pit (‎vincent‎), Nicolas Mendoza (‎nicomen‎), Wendy Van Dijk (‎woolfy‎), Lech Baczyński (‎lechu‎), Henrique Alves (‎Halves‎), MartijnVdS, Solli Honorio (‎shonorio‎), Jacinta Richardson (‎jarich‎), Paul Fenwick (‎pjf‎), Andre Luis, Oliver Thieke (‎o-thieke‎), Wolfgang Radke, Andrew Beech, Alexandru Nedelcu, Thierry Douez (‎tdz‎), Jørgen Elgaard Larsen (‎elhaard‎),